Notice: Undefined index: area in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 42Notice: Undefined index: area in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 6 2nd World EVOO Competition Salon Gourmets | Grupo Gourmets

2nd World EVOO Competition Salon Gourmets

  • Exhibitor: GRUPO GOURMETS
  • Date: Tuesday, April 18, 2023
  • Time: 10:00 AM - 19:00 PM
  • Location:

Contest Rules

Salón Gourmets has been a driving force and an exceptional witness to the impressive boom that Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO) is experiencing around the world, supporting producers in their race towards excellence in a sector that is constantly innovating and professionalising.

There is therefore a clear need to publicise the great Extra Virgin Olive Oils that are currently being produced in different corners of the world, the immense variety of colours, flavours and textures they offer and the infinite versatility of this product.

The best extra virgin olive oils in the world will be present at Salón Gourmets for the second consecutive year in the 2nd Salón Gourmets World EVOO Competition. The aim of the competition is to find the most outstanding oils of the 2022/2023 campaign.

The Official Tasting Panel of the Community of Madrid will then select the EVOOs that took part in the Final, where a jury, made up of international professionals from the sector, will award 7 prizes taking into account their typology, organoleptic characteristics and design.


- Intense green fruity

  • 1º: Oro Bailén Hojiblanca
  • 2º: Valdenvero Hojiblanca
  • 3º: O-Med Picual.
  • Accesit: Oro Bailén Picual
  • Accesit: Casalbert
  • Accesit: Mueloliva picuda

- Medium green fruity

  • 1º: Finca Badenes Picual.
  • 2º: 555 Hojiblanca.
  • 3º: Makro Premium Hojiblanca.
  • Accesit: AOVE Makro Premium Picual
  • Accesit: Virgen de la Torre
  • Accesit: Sol del Silencio

- Ripe fruity

  • 1º: Palacio de los Olivos Arbequina.
  • 2º: Priordei Royal 1789.
  • 3º Dehesa del Castillo.
  • Accesit: Oro Bailén Arbequina
  • Accesit: Molino del Genil Arbequina
  • Accesit: La Huerta de la Vera

- EVOO Ecological Quality Award Salón Gourmets

  • 1º: Makro Premium Picual Bio.
  • 2º: Oro del Desierto Coupage.
  • 3º: Oro Bailén Picual Bio.
  • Accesit: Loa 77
  • Accesit: Luxuri M.O.
  • Accesit: Ma'sarah Picual

- EVOO PDO and PGI Quality Award Salón Gourmets.

  • 1º: Palacio de los Olivos Picual.
  • 2º: Cladium Hojiblanca.
  • 3º: Monteoliva Oro Hojiblanca.
  • Accesit: Virrey del Pino
  • Accesit: Oro de Cánava
  • Accesit: Fuente del Rey

- High polyphenol content Award EVOO Salón Gourmets

  • 1º: Pago Francisco Gómez Grosal 
  • 2º: Pago Francisco Gómez Cornicabra 
  • 3º: Phenomenal

- Packaging and Innovation Award EVOO Salón Gourmets.

  • 1º: Verde Divino Ecológico Picual
  • 2º Francisco Gómez Serrata
  • 3º: Sol del Silencio

The jury of the Organoleptic Final will be made up by:

  • Elena Díaz Mejías, Head of the Virgin Olive Oil Tasting Panel of the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.
  • Mª del Mar García González, Head of the Panel of Tasters of Virgin Olive Oil of the Central Customs Laboratory.
  • Mª Ángeles Pérez Jiménez, Head of the Virgin Olive Oil Tasting Panel of the Community of Madrid.
  • Bienvenido Callao Navales, Head of the Virgin Olive Oil Tasting Panel of Aragón.
  • Chelo Dolado Bonilla, Head of the Virgin Olive Oil Tasting Panel of the Community of Navarra.
  • Wenceslao Moreda Martino, Head of Panel of the International Olive Oil Council, member of the IOC committee of experts and researcher of the Superior Council of Scientific Research (CSIC).
  • Tomiko Tanaka, international expert taster.
  • Plácido Pascual Morales, Head of the Tasting Panel of the Agri-Food Laboratory of Córdoba.
  • Juan Baseda Torruella, DO Bajo Aragón Secretary and expert taster.
  • Ignacio García Lombardero, member of the CICC Tasting Panel.
  • Paqui García González, General Secretary of the Priego de Córdoba PDO and international expert taster.
  • José Manuel Bajo Prados, Secretary General of the CRDO Baena and international expert taster.
  • Enrique García-Tenorio, General Manager CRDO Montes de Toledo and international expert taster.
  • José Antonio Carrasco Martínez, Quality Manager of the Sierra del Segura PDO and expert taster.
  • Juan Morales Navas, member of the Baena PDO Tasting Panel and international expert taster.
  • Mª Ángeles Calvo Fandos, Head of tasting panel of virgin olive oils from Catalonia.
  • Fernando Martínez Román, Head of tasting panel of the sensory analysis laboratory of the Instituto de la Grasa (CSIC-Sevilla).
  • Alfonso J. Fernández, international expert taster.

The jury of Packaging and Innovation Award was made up by:

  • Ágatha Ruiz de la Prada, fashion designer.
  • Borja Hernández, Art Director Grupo Gourmets
  • Jacobo Gavira, creative designer.
  • Andrea Tumbarello, Chef Don Giovanni Restaurant.
  • Pedro Larumbe, Chef Larumbe Gruop.


We use cookies to offer our visitors a transparent and comfortable experience when browsing our website. By using our website you accept the use of cookies; You can get more information about cookies and their use on our website in the section of Cookies policy.